Skip to content

Conversations with “All About Me People” (AAMPs)

February 20, 2017

20160117_104340-2_resized 4The Promising Opening

Me: Hello?

All About Me Person (AAMP): Hey Rich, this is _____!  Long time no see!  How are you!  Good I hope?  Let me tell you how I’ve been – yada, yada, yada, blah, blah, blah…

The Grueling Body of the Conversation

AAMP: So how’s the wife and kids? Good?

Me: They’re goo…

AAMP:  Good, good.  Glad they’re doing well.  My kids are now yada, yada, yada, blah, blah, blah….

Me: That’s great….

AAMP: Looks like from your FB posts you’re having lots of success?

Me: Yes, it’s going grea…..

AAMP: That’s great!   Did I tell you about what I’ve been doing yada, yada, yada, blah, blah, blah….

Me: That’s super!

AAMP: Yeah, and you know what else?

Me: Can’t imagine (but not out loud)

AAMP: I did this, I did that and I did the other thing, yada, yada, yada, blah, blah, blah (me hearing a Rocky theme in my mind)

Me: You Da Man or You Rock (Complimentary short sentence – since it’s all about them)

AAMP: I wanted to ask your opinion on something (ask me for advice on something everyone else pays me for)

Me: Vague as possible while encouraging the person that they are smart, talented and will figure it out no problem.

AAMP: More blather on how great they are.

The Not-So-Grand (for me) Finale

AAMP: Goes off on lengthy tangent about this, that and the other thing.

Me:  Holy cow – my lunch is burning.  I’ve got to go.  Honey where’s the fire extinguisher!!!????

AAMP: Do you need to get that?  I better go. Great catching up!  We will have to do this more often!

Me: Call me.  We’ll talk!

Final Tally: 30 minute conversation.  28 minutes for AAMP.  2 minutes for ME.  Loose the conversation, keep the friend?

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

