Skip to content

Republican Candidate Debate – Opening Act Scores

August 6, 2015

Professional 3 3836Just like I’ve done with hundreds of leaders in my training programs, I listened to and observed the delivery of the seven candidates in today’s earlier debate.

I rated each one based on how well he or she delivered a matched non-verbal, vocal and verbal message that was credible, believable and understandable.   I gave a little more than usual emphasis to the verbal delivery because, ultimately, they will be held accountable for their words.

Given these people are all excellent and highly experienced communicators, here’s how I scored them on a scale of 1-10, with 10 highest:

  • Jindal 9.4
  • Gilmore 9.35
  • Fiorina 9.2 (Although I liked her the best overall as a communicator)
  • Pataki 9.1
  • Perry 8.4
  • Santorum 8.1
  • Graham 8

Disappointed my candidate pick Perry wasn’t more convincing out of the gate.  Totally in awe and inspired by Carly Fiorina’s communication skills.  Felt Gilmore was the most presidential, and Jindal was most enthusiastically convincing.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

